6 GOP Lawmakers, led by Rep. Fitzpatrick introduce resolution to censure Trump

GOP Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.) introduced a resolution Tuesday to censure Trump “for attempting to unlawfully overturn the 2020 Presidential election and for violating his oath of office on January 6th, 2021.”

The resolution is supported by fellow Republicans Fred Upton (R-MI), John Curtis (R-UT), Peter Meijer (R-MI), Tom Reed (R-NY), and Young Kim (R-CA).

Fitzpatrick said in a statement “President Trump’s attempts to undermine the outcome of the 2020 election have been unconscionable. The combination of a false information campaign coupled with inflammatory rhetoric led to the devastation that I was a personal witness to on the House Floor on January 6th.”

“His actions threatened the integrity of our democracy, Congress, and his own Vice President,” he continued. “For months, President Trump has been lying to the American people with false information, and giving his supporters false expectations.”

“The election is over. Joe Biden will be sworn in as President of the United States on January 20th, 2021. President Trump’s actions, behavior, and language are unacceptable and unbecoming of the office he holds for the next eight days,” he added.