Warren Taps “Squad” Member Ayanna Pressley as Campaign Co-Chair

Elizabeth Warren has tapped 3 women to be her campaign co-chairs including “squad” member Ayanna Pressley (Mass.), along with Deb Haaland (N.M.) and Katie Porter (Calif.)

Pro-charter school protesters interrupted Sen. Elizabeth Warren’s speech in Georgia on Thursday and Ayanna Pressley stepped in.

TheHill reports Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) on Friday announced three House freshmen as co-chairs for her presidential campaign, including Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.), a high-profile member of the group of progressive congresswomen dubbed “The Squad.”

Democratic Reps. Deb Haaland (N.M.) and Katie Porter (Calif.) will also join Warren’s campaign as co-chairs.

“I’m deeply grateful to be standing shoulder to shoulder with Deb, Katie, and Ayanna as we fight for big structural change,” Warren said in a statement. “Together, we will continue building a grassroots movement to root out corruption in Washington and make our democracy work for everyone, not just the wealthy and well-connected.”

“Deb, Katie, and Ayanna are relentless advocates for working families,” she added. “It’s an incredible honor to have these three persistent women on our team.”

Pressley made news earlier this month when she announced her support for Warren, breaking from her fellow Squad members Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.) and Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.), who endorsed Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) in the Democratic presidential primary.

All three congresswomen named to Warren’s campaign leadership on Friday were elected to the House last year on progressive platforms.