Trump now has more Supreme Court Justices confirmed in one term than Obama in two terms

In a single term, President Trump now has confirmed 3 Supreme Court Justices.

Neil Gorsuch – April 7, 2017.

Brett Kavanaugh – October 6, 2018.

Amy Coney Barrett – October 26, 2020.

In Comparison, Obama only confirmed 2 Supreme Court Justices in 2 terms.

Sonia Sotomayor – August 5, 2009 and

Elena Kagan – August 5, 2010.

Because Supreme Court justices are lifetime appointments, clearly luck played a role. Some Democrats also blame the late Ginsburg for not retiring during Obama’s term and giving him a chance to replace her with a younger justice.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has played a major role in reshaping the courts for conservatives.

After Barrett was confirmed, McConnell tweeted “The Senate just confirmed Judge Amy Coney Barrett to the Supreme Court of the United States. One of the most impressive nominees for public office in a generation will serve for life on our highest court.’