Pelosi just named 7 Democrats and Liz Cheney for new Jan. 6th committee

Thursday, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced she has tapped Rep. Liz Cheney as the lone Republican to sit on the a newly formed committee to investigate the January 6th Capitol riot.

Pelosi said in a statement “We’re very honored and proud that she has agreed to serve on the committee.”

Cheney was recently ousted from her GOP conference chair leadership role. Rep. Elise Stefanik is now in the role.

Cheney was only one of two Republicans, along with Rep. Adam Kinzinger to vote in favor of the committee.

“What happened on January 6th can never happen again,” Cheney said in a statement. “Those who are responsible for the attack need to be held accountable and this select committee will fulfill that responsibility in a professional, expeditious, and non-partisan manner.”

In addition to Cheney, per Fox News, the chairperson will be Rep. Bennie Thompson.

Other members are: Reps. Zoe Lofgren, the chair of House Administration Committee; Adam Schiff, chair of the Intelligence Committee, as well as Reps. Pete Aguilar of California, Stephanie Murphy of Florida, Jamie Raskin of Maryland and Elaine Luria of Virginia.