Omar Accuses Trump of “Creating an Invisible Wall” to Keep Muslims Out

During a press conference Monday, “squad” member Ilhan Omar accused President Trump of “creating an invisible wall” to keep muslims out of the Country.

The press conference took place on the 3rd anniversary of the policy Democrats like to refer to as the “Muslim Ban.”

Ilhan Omar:

Exactly three years Trump achieved his stated campaign goal of banning a group of people and since the ban first went into effect it has deferred dreams, it has separated families and it’s deprived people of live-saving health care and blocked access to education.

Trump doesn’t just want a border wall. He’s creating an invisible wall of keeping out people around the world based solely on their religion.

Per TheHill, Monday marked the third anniversary of Trump signing orders during his first week in office to suspend immigration from Syria, Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Yemen and Somalia – all predominantly Muslim countries.

Congressional Democrats are calling for passage of the National Origin-Based Antidiscrimination for Nonimmigrants Act, or NO BAN Act, that was introduced last year.

The bill would limit presidential power to impose travel restrictions on citizens from other countries entering the United States. It also would prohibit religious discrimination and require the president, the State Department and the Department of Homeland Security to justify any travel restrictions imposed on foreign citizens.

“We have no other answer to this shameful policy but to pass the NO BAN Act, which will amend the underlying law, repeal the existing travel bans and fix the hole in the heart of American immigration law that was created by this ungrounded decision,” Sen. Christopher Coons (D-Del.) said at Monday’s rally. “Only by getting this act passed and signed into law will we be certain that future presidents won’t act based on fear, prejudice and a lack of grounding and real information.”

Meanwhile, per Politico, President Donald Trump may expand his controversial travel ban.

The list of countries is not yet final and could be changed, but nations under consideration for new restrictions include Belarus, Myanmar (also known as Burma), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania, according to two people familiar with the matter.

A draft being considered by the Trump administration would place immigration restrictions on the additional seven countries, but not necessarily completely ban all citizens of those nations from entering the United States. The restrictions could apply only to certain government officials, for instance, or certain types of visas.

Nonetheless, any new restrictions are likely to strain ties with the affected countries, some of which assist the U.S. on issues like fighting terrorism, and some of which Washington has been trying to court for strategic reasons.

Trump confirmed Tuesday in an interview with The Wall Street Journal from Davos that he is trying to add additional nations to the travel ban, but declined to list the countries.