Cruz, two other Republican Senators introduce bill to ban federal vaccine passports

Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) along with Senators Mike Braun (R-IN), and Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) have introduced a bill banning federal vaccine passports.

Cruz said in a statement announcing the bill “Americans shouldn’t be discriminated against because of COVID-19 vaccine status – whether that is at work or in everyday life.”

“We should be encouraging individuals to receive the vaccine through increased patient protections, not mandating it,” he added.

At least 10 states have now enacted similar bills banning vaccine passports – Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Montana, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Biden Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas said the administration is taking a “very close look” at the idea of requiring vaccine passports for international travelers coming into and leaving the U.S.

Mayorkas said that “any passport that we provide for vaccinations is accessible to all and that no one is disenfranchised.”