BREAKING: Maxine Waters Issues Statement, Will Boycott Tonight’s SOTU Address

Rep. Maxine Water has announced she will boycott tonight’s State of the Union address by President Trump.

Waters explained in a tweet:

To think that I would attend the #SOTU to hear the message of an IMPEACHED president is a thought that in no way would be consistent w/ my fight and struggle against this dishonorable president. I will certainly NOT be there!

Other Democratic members of Congress who are boycotting for the first time include:

Rep. Al Green (D-Texas)

Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.)

Rep. Hank Johnson (D-Ga.)

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY)

House Homeland Security Chair Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.)

Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.)

Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)

Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.)