Collins and Murkowski Refuse to Sign GOP Resolution Condemning Impeachment Inquiry

Republican Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) who also both voted  “no” and helped kill the “skinny repeal” of Obamacare, will not sign a resolution condemning the impeachment inquiry.

TheHill reports Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Susan Collins (R-Maine) said on Monday that they will not sign onto a GOP resolution condemning the House impeachment inquiry.

Collins and Murkowski are two of the three GOP senators who have not yet co-sponsored the resolution, which was spearheaded by Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.).
“From the get go, Speaker Pelosi and House Democrats have handled this impeachment inquiry poorly, from closed-door hearings and leaked information to the outright abandonment of decades of established precedent on due process for the accused. A serious lack of transparency will hardly build public trust or credibility for the House’s actions,” Murkowski said in a statement.
But she added that, “as awful as their process is, the formal impeachment inquiry lies in the House, and it’s not the Senate’s role to dictate to the House how to determine their own rules.”

Collins separately told Politico that she doesn’t plan to co-sponsor the resolution, though she added that she hasn’t decided how she would vote if the resolution comes up on the Senate floor.

“Just as I don’t like it when House members try to tell us to abolish the filibuster, I’m not sure it’s productive for the Senate to try to dictate to the House how to conduct the inquiry,” Collins told the publication.

This article was written by the staff of 

For more breaking political news click here.